View count: 16582


The history of the Graduate Institute of Photonics and Optoelectronics (GIPO) at National Taiwan University dates back to 1987. It was then a Research Group of the Graduate Institute of Electrical Engineering. In August 1992, GIPO was established as part of the College of Engineering. Professor Hung-Chun Chang was the first Chairman. At the time, the Institute offered a Master’s program. Three years later, in August 1995, the Institute started to offer its Ph.D. program. Since August 1997, the Institute has become part of the newly established College of Electrical Engineering. The College was renamed to the College of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science with the inclusion of the Department of Computer Science and Information Engineering. Professor Hen-Wai Tsao served as the second Chairman of the Institute from August 1998 through July 2001. From August 2001 to July 2019, Professor C. C. Yang (August 2001 - July 2007) , Professor Sheng-Lung Huang (August 2007 - July 2010) , Professor Ching-Fuh Lin (August 2010 - July 2012) and Professor Gong-Ru Lin (August 2012- July 2019) served as the Chairmen. Since August 2019, Professor Jian-Jang Huang has been serving as the Chairman of the Institute.